Menton RSS
 Newsletter
Login
Languages Traduca in Italiano Translate in English Traduire en Français
The Photo and Video Portal cultural events, Sports, for Menton Artistic and country chin.
Discover the Events Images of Menton and the country's Mentonnais. Discover the Menton Traders and Creative Artisans.
Video of  Menton
Portail Menton
menton at the moment
Favorite in Menton
ART AND CULTURE

National Edition Stamp Menton :


Menton stamp will be officially launched on Saturday 21 February, in the presence of Jean-Claude Guibal, Mayor of Menton, Françoise Esling, Director of Philaposte

and Caujolle Nicolas, Director of Teacher's Post of the Alpes-Maritimes.
Presented the first national to Menton, the stamp issued by La Poste will be on sale from Monday March 2 in France. During the weekend of 21 and 22 February, the City of Menton, the Philatelic Association of Menton and cartophile and La Poste will celebrate the first stamp on the "Pearl of France" : Menton.

Value: 0.56 €.
Series: Tourism.
Creator and Writer: Eve Luquet photo from City of Menton.
Printed in intaglio.
Color: Polychrome.
Format: 25*36, comprises serrations 30*40, 48 stamps per sheet.
Circulation: 2 650 000 Ex.
Domestic for sale: 2 March 2009.

A Brief History of the Old City :

It has not changed since the early twentieth century and we find it as it existed at that time "massaged on the promontory of the Colle which is the extension of the Mount Bold and the crest of Castellar the whole of the houses form a compact mass which roofs seem to reach and cover.
Single flight of this compact, the majestic tower of the Basilica of St Michel.
The old town was formerly walled enclosure and are accessed by several doors but only two remain today. Until 1908, the sea was hitting the rocks where the houses were built lower. Mountain side, all is against blots Castle John II, who met during the century many vicissitudes.
In 1807, the town bought for 48Fr. the ruins of the castles and location to create the cemetery. The demolition took place until 1875 and the cemetery will gradually look it has today. It is called Chateau Cemetery.
At the heart of this city is l'Eglise St Michel. Magnificent baroque building, it was built on the order of Honoré II, Prince of Monaco on the site of a smaller church. The laying of the cornerstone took place on 27 May 1619, in the presence of Archbishop Spinola, Bishop of Ventimiglia.
Construction lasted from 1619 to 1646, and the church was opened for worship in 1653. Its bell tower, the famous "Campanin" so dear to Mentonnais was erected in 1701.
The earthquake of February 1887 severely damaged the building. We had to rebuild the collapsed roof of the choir, that of the nave which was slightly cracked and the roof above them. It also had to repair the facade and the ground above the main tower. The church was made to worship at the end of 1889. Front of the building, the place leaves a spectacular mosaic floor, or climbing, and white pebbles gray.
On the left side of the Church of St. Michael and elevated relative to this is the place of conception and the church of the same name. Built in 1667, it is the seat of the Confraternity of Penitents Blancs.
The church of St Michel endowed by His Holiness John Paul II of a special dignity, became, in 1999, the Basilica of St Michel.

The Stamp of Menton
©2013 Portail-Menton.com-Legal-Graphic Creation
Tourism Alpes Maritimes | Alpes Maritimes | Directory Pro Photo | webrankinfo | DicoDuNet | Xhtml1.0 | Css2.1 | Photo Provence | Côte d'Azur Directory | Annuaire Video | Photo Directory | Photo | NiceRendezVous | Photo Pro | Pays Mentonnais |

Menton RSS
 Newsletter
Connexion
  Langues Traduca in Italiano Translate in English Traduire en Français
Le Portail Photo et Vidéo des Manifestations Culturelles, Sportives, Artistiques de Menton et du Pays Mentonnais.
Découvrez en Images l'Evénementiel de Menton. Découvrez aussi les Artisans Créateurs et Les Commerçants de Menton.
Menton en ce moment

ART ET CULTURE

Edition Nationale du Timbre de Menton :


Le timbre de Menton sera officiellement lancé samedi 21 février 2009, en présence de Jean-Claude Guibal, Député-Maire de Menton, de Françoise Eslinger, Directrice de

Philaposte, et de Nicolas Caujolle, Directeur de l’Enseigne La Poste des Alpes-Maritimes.
Présenté en avant-première nationale aux Mentonnais, le timbre édité par La Poste sera mis en vente à partir du lundi 2 mars 2009 dans toute la France. Durant le week-end des 21 et 22 février 2209, la Ville de Menton, l’Association Philatélique et Cartophile de Menton et La Poste célèbreront le premier timbre consacré à la « Perle de la France » : Menton.

Valeur Faciale : 0.56 €.
Série : Touristique.
Créateur et Graveur : Eve Luquet d'après photo Ville de Menton.
Imprimé en taille douce.
Couleur : Polychrome.
Format : 25*36, Dentelures comprises 30*40, 48 timbres par feuille.
Tirage : 2 650 000 Ex.
Mise en vente Nationale : 2 mars 2009.

Petit historique de la vieille ville de Menton:

Elle n'a pas changé depuis le debut du XXème siècle, et nous la trouvons telle qu'elle existait à cette époque "massée sur le promontoire de la Colle qui n'est autre que le prolongement du Mont Gras et de la crête de Castellar; l'ensemble de ses maisons forment une masse compacte dont les toitures semblent se rejoindre et se couvrir".
Seule envolée de cette masse compacte, celle du majestueux clocher de la Basilique St Michel.
La vieille ville était jadis enceinte de murs et l'on y accédait par plusieurs portes dont deux seulements subsistent aujourd'hui. Jusqu'en 1908, le mer venait cogner les rochers où étaient construites les maisons les plus basses. Côté montagnes, l'ensemble se blotissait contre le château de Jean II, qui connut au cours des siècle bien des vicissitudes.
En 1807, la commune acheta pour 48Fr. les ruines de ce chateaux et l'emplacement, afin de créer le cimetière. Les démolition se succèdèrent jusqu'en 1875 et ce cimetière prendra peu à peu l'allure qu'il connaît aujourd'hui. Il est appelé : Cimetière du Chateau.
Au coeur de cette ville s'élève l'Eglise St Michel. Magnifique bâtiment de style baroque, elle fut construite sur l'ordre de Honoré II, Prince de Monaco, sur l'emplacement d'une église plus petite. La pose de la première pierre eut lieu le 27 mai 1619, en présence de Monseigneur Spinola, Evêque de Vintimille.
La construction dura de 1619 à 1646, et l'église fut ouverte au culte en 1653. Son clocher, le célèbre "Campanin" si cher aux Mentonnais, fut érigé en 1701.
Le tremblement de terre de fevrier 1887 endommagea gravement l'édifice. On dut reconstruire la voûte du choeur effondré, celle de la nef qui était légèrement fissurée, ainsi que les toitures qui les recouvraient. On dut aussi réparer la façade et le motif supérieur du clocher principal. L'église ne fut rendue au culte que vers la fin de l'année 1889. Devant l'édifice, la place laisse admirer un sol en mosaïque, ou calade, de galets blancs et gris.
Sur la gauche de l'Eglise St Michel et surélevé par rapport à celle ci, on trouve la place de la conception et l'église du même nom. Construite en 1667, elle est le siège de la confrérie des Pénitents Blancs.
L'église St Michel dotée par sa Sainteté Jean Paul II d'une dignité particulière, devint en 1999, la Basilique St Michel.


le timbre de menton


Menton coup de coeur
©2008-2017 Portail-Menton.com-Mention Légale-Contact
Ville de Menton | Alpes Maritimes | Annuaire Pro Photo | webrankinfo | DicoDuNet | Annuaire Photo | Annuaire casafree | Annuaire Côte d'Azur | Annuaire Video | Annuaire référencement | Annuaire Photo | Annuaire 1dex.net | Livresphotos.com Annuaire des Photographes |