Menton RSS
 Newsletter
Login
Languages Traduca in Italiano Translate in English Traduire en Français
The Photo and Video Portal cultural events, Sports, for Menton Artistic and country chin.
Discover the Events Images of Menton and the country's Mentonnais. Discover the Menton Traders and Creative Artisans.
Video of  Menton
Portail Menton
menton at the moment
Favorite in Menton
ART AND CULTURE

Exhibition Molas, Kuna Art :


Michel Perrin, a former physicist, now ethnologist and anthropologist, following a meeting Claude Levi-Strauss is the curator of this exhibition.

His work on mythology, symbolism, traditional medicine, dreams, and art allowed him to share the lives of three American Indian populations. The Kuna tribe, the San Blas Islands of Panama, is one of them.
The Kuna Indians of Panama live on coral islands, the Atlantic side. They are nearly fifty thousand, fishing and horticulture. Mola is the name they give to real "tables" of fabric on which the women are building their blouse.
The outstanding aesthetic quality and variety of these achievements Kuna women have earned a reputation for exceptional artists. On molas, Claude Levi-Strauss wrote: "This art is a prodigious fertility . We are amazed by the diversity patterns and styles, the virtuosity with which the seamstresses deal . ".
The art of mola appears at the end of the nineteenth century. This is an "art of reaction," resulting from contact with whites. Until their arrival, the women were topless and painted their bodies. Later, from a Western-style clothing that was imposed upon them or that they wanted to imitate, they expressed a difference by creating molas, made only with borrowed goods: industrial cotton and son, needles and scissors of steel.
This exhibition, which has been awarded the Bicentennial celebrations of independence in Latin America, accompanied by two projections / conferences to better understand this art but also the culture from which it came.

Photo Gallery exhibition of Mola, Kuna Art
©2013 Portail-Menton.com-Legal-Graphic Creation
Tourism Alpes Maritimes | Alpes Maritimes | Directory Pro Photo | webrankinfo | DicoDuNet | Xhtml1.0 | Css2.1 | Photo Provence | Côte d'Azur Directory | Annuaire Video | Photo Directory | Photo | NiceRendezVous | Photo Pro | Pays Mentonnais |

Menton RSS
 Newsletter
Connexion
  Langues Traduca in Italiano Translate in English Traduire en Français
Le Portail Photo et Vidéo des Manifestations Culturelles, Sportives, Artistiques de Menton et du Pays Mentonnais.
Découvrez en Images l'Evénementiel de Menton. Découvrez aussi les Artisans Créateurs et Les Commerçants de Menton.
Menton en ce moment

ART ET CULTURE

Exposition de Molas, Art Kuna, Art d'Amérique :


Michel Perrin, ancien physicien, devenu ethnologue et anthropologue suite à une rencontre avec Claude Lévi-Strauss est le commissaire de cette exposition.

Ses travaux sur la mythologie, le symbolisme, la médecine traditionnelle, le rêve, et l'art lui ont permis de partager la vie de trois populations amérindiennes. La tribu Kuna, des îles San Blas du Panama, est l'une d'entre elle.
Les Indiens Kuna du Panama vivent sur des îles coralliennes, côté Atlantique. Ils sont près de cinquante mille, pratiquant la pêche et l'horticulture. Mola est le nom qu’ils donnent à de véritables "tableaux" de tissu sur lesquels les femmes bâtissent leur corsage.
La remarquable qualité esthétique et la grande diversité de ces réalisations a valu aux femmes kuna la réputation d'artistes exceptionnelles. Sur les molas, Claude Lévi-Strauss écrivait : « Cet art reste d’une fécondité prodigieuse… On est émerveillé par la diversité des motifs et des styles, par la virtuosité avec laquelle les couturières les traitent… ».
L'art des molas apparaît à la fin du XIXe siècle. C'est un "art de réaction", issu du contact avec les Blancs. Jusqu'à leur arrivée, les femmes allaient seins nus et se peignaient le corps. Plus tard, à partir d'un vêtement de type occidental qui leur fut imposé ou qu'elles voulurent imiter, elles ont exprimé leur différence en créant des molas, faites uniquement avec des produits empruntés : cotonnades et fils industriels, aiguilles et ciseaux d’acier.
Cette exposition, qui a obtenu le label des célébrations du Bicentenaire des indépendances d’Amérique latine, s’accompagnera de deux projections/conférences afin de mieux appréhender cet art mais également la culture de laquelle il est issu.
Une exposition d'exception pour un Art d'exception.

Exposition de mola à Menton


Menton coup de coeur
©2008-2015 Portail-Menton.com-Mention Légale-Contact-Création Graphique
Ville de Menton | Alpes Maritimes | Annuaire Pro Photo | webrankinfo | DicoDuNet | Annuaire Photo | Annuaire Côte d'Azur | Annuaire Video | Annuaire Photo | Livresphotos.com Annuaire des Photographes |